--- title: "Managing Team Members" slug: "managing-team-members" updated: 2026-01-15T08:40:12Z published: 2026-01-15T08:40:12Z canonical: "help.iobeya.com/managing-team-members" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.iobeya.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing Team Members In iObeya, managing team members involves organizing who can access and contribute to your rooms and boards, assigning tasks and facilitating communication. iObeya’s user management features help you maintain control over your project and ensure that the right people have the appropriate level of access. In this article, discover the key aspects of managing team members in iObeya, from adding team members and assigning permissions to inviting people to join your team. You can manage team members in iObeya from the **Team page** of the **Room settings**. To [add](/product/docs/managing-team-members#adding-team-members) or [invite](/product/docs/managing-team-members#inviting-people-to-join-your-team) your team members to your rooms, you have **2 options:** 1. When you [create your trial room](/product/docs/creating-a-trial-room), click **Manage your team**. or 2. Click the **Settings** icon on the top right of your board or room> **Room settings**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/e61a3dcb-bae0-4a4f-820c-85b0f6ef7f3c/Images/Documentation/GS-Team management.png) - **Add**: used to add an existing user on the platform only to your room - **Remove**: used to remove members of the team from your room - **Send invitations**: used to invite an existing user or a new member to join your team Groups are managed directly from the iObeya administration interface. > [!WARNING] > Warning: > > To manage users and their permissions, you need to be assigned the permissions to edit users and roles in your rooms. ## Intro to User Roles and Permissions in iObeya Roles and permissions let you define what each user can access and do in your iObeya platform: For example: A Room administrator **(role)** can set permissions in the room **(permissions).** iObeya users can be assigned the following **user roles**: - **Guests**: Users with limited access, typically read-only. They can view the room and its contents but cannot edit or manage settings. - **Team Members**: Users that can create and modify boards within the room. They have permissions to edit content but not to manage team settings. - **Room administrators**: Users that have full control over the room, including managing team members, configuring room settings and editing boards. You can set permissions for user roles: | **Roles** | Permissions | | --- | --- | | **Guests** | - Viewing boards Compare to Team Members, Guests have some limited uses of [utilities](/product/docs/about-utilities). | | **Team Members** | **Edit room boards:** - Viewing boards - Using boards - Modifying boards: creating, updating and deleting elements | | **Administrators** | **Administrate the room:** - Creating and deleting board in the managed room - Configuring boards: creating and removing tools from the dock - Adding and removing users in the room - Setting permissions to users in the room - Locking boards **Manage team’s permisisons:** - Setting permissions to users in the room **Edit room boards:** - Viewing boards - Using boards - Modifying boards: creating, updating and deleting elements | For temporary collaborators or stakeholders who only need to view the room, use Guest access to keep your team members count manageable. All users who exceed the limit of team members (active users) per room are added as **guests**. To find out the maximum number of active users allowed in your room, click the **Global Settings** of the **Room settings**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/e61a3dcb-bae0-4a4f-820c-85b0f6ef7f3c/Images/Documentation/GS-global settings.png) You can add as many guests to your team as you like. Feel free to manage the permissions. ## Adding Team Members To add team members in your room: 1. From the Team page of the room settings, Click **Add.** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/e61a3dcb-bae0-4a4f-820c-85b0f6ef7f3c/Images/Documentation/GS_add team members(1).png) The Add users window is displayed. 2. Enter the name of a user with iObeya access permissions and add them. > [!TIP] > Tip: > > Fill in one or more fields and then click the magnifying glass to find the user. > > You can add several users simultaneously in this window. 3. Grant permissions to each user in the table. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/e61a3dcb-bae0-4a4f-820c-85b0f6ef7f3c/Images/Documentation/GS_add team members 2(1).png) ## Inviting People to join your Team > [!NOTE] > Note: > > Every iObeya user invited joins as editor, unless the limit number of editors is reached. > > To get out more about how many editors you can have in a room, you can view the dedicated information from the **Global settings** page of the room settings. > [!WARNING] > Warning: > > Inviting users to a room is for professional use only. Find our terms of service in the [GCU](https://www.iobeya.com/product-general-conditions-of-use/#obligations-of-the-user). To invite people to join your team: 1. From the Team page of the room settings, click **Send invitations**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/e61a3dcb-bae0-4a4f-820c-85b0f6ef7f3c/Images/Documentation/GS_send invitations.png) 2. Type the email addresses of the iObeya user you intend to invite and then validate. An email is sent to this person. He or she receives a link in order to sign up to iObeya. You are free to: - enter as many email addresses as there are people to invite. - paste a list of email addresses. In both cases, separate each adresses with a comma, a semicolon or a space. > [!WARNING] > Warning: > > The link is valid for **30 days**. ## Removing Members of your Team from your Room To remove members of your team from your room: 1. Select the members of your team you want to remove. 2. Click **Remove**. User with elevated permissions responsible for managing and configuring a specific room. This role includes tasks such as adding or removing boards, managing users' access and permissions within the room, customizing the room’s layout, and standardizing visual management practices. The room administrator ensures that the team uses visual management in accordance with established guidelines and best practices. User who is granted limited read-only access to a room within the platform. Guest users have restricted permissions, allowing them to view all the boards in a room without having access to full editing features.